Introduction to AAET

    ASEAN Academy of Engineering and Technology (AAET) was founded in 2004 and registered with the ASEAN Secretariat as an ASEAN Secretariat-affiliated Civil Society Organization (CSO) in 2007.

    AAET’s main objective is to contribute combined intellect and experience of its members in academia, government and industry for the economic advancement of the ASEAN region and its people in sustainable manner.

    The members of AAET are eminent engineers and technologists from the ten ASEAN member states. Currently, the AAET membership is constituted of 3 Honorary Fellows, 12 Senior Fellow, 217 Fellows, 15 Foreign Fellow and 73 Associate Fellows.

    In the past few years, AAET had initiated various programs and activities to increase the awareness on the importance of science, technology and innovation (STI) in the ASEAN region, as well as assisting in promoting the socio-economic development and enhancing the competitiveness of the ASEAN member states. These programs or activities include:

    • International Energy Conference (IEC),
    • Annual AAET-NAEK Engineering Forum and Roundtable Meeting;
    • Annual Green Award;
    • Quarterly Distinguished Lecture on promoting the young Technopreneurship and regional sustainable development;
    • Annual Engineering, Science, Technology & Innovation (ESTI) Design/Essay Competition;
    • Annual Kuala Lumpur Engineering Science Fair (KLESF);
    • Creating an innovative culture for the young generation in ASEAN region.

    In order to expedite the implementation of various programs and activities, AAET has also fostered closer cooperative relationship with various engineering organizations, chambers of commerce and NGOs. These include: ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organizations (AFEO), Academy of Science Malaysia (ASM), Malaysia-China Chamber of Commerce (MCCC), Myanmar Engineering Society (MES), Institution of Engineers Indonesia (PII), Vietnam Union of Science & Technology Associations (VUSTA), Lao Union of Science & Technology Associations (LUSEA), Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM), Board of Engineers Cambodia (BEC), Royal Academy of Cambodia (RAC), Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), Engineering Academy of Japan (EAJ), National Academy of Engineering Korea (NAEK), African Academy of Engineering & Technology (African AET) and etc.

    updated as at 23 June 2020