About Us

    Introduction to AAET

    ASEAN Academy of Engineering and Technology (AAET) was founded in 2004 and registered with the ASEAN Secretariat as an ASEAN Secretariat-affiliated Civil Society Organization (CSO) in 2007.

    AAET’s main objective is to contribute combined intellect and experience of its members in academia, government and industry for the economic advancement of the ASEAN region and its people in sustainable manner.

    The members of AAET are eminent engineers, technologists and industrialists from the ten ASEAN member states. Currently, the AAET membership constitutes of three (3) Honorary Fellows, twelve (12) Senior Fellows, two hundred seventeen (217) Fellows, fifteen (15) Foreign Fellows and seventy three (73) Associate Fellows from the 10 ASEAN member states and other regions in the world.

    Since its inception, AAET had initiated various programs and activities to increase the awareness on the importance of science, technology and innovation (STI) in the ASEAN region, as well as assisting in promoting the socio-economic development and enhancing the competitiveness of the ASEAN member states. These programs or activities include:


    • Biennial International Energy Conference (IEC)
    • Annual MCCC-AAET Green Award
    • Quarterly Distinguished Lecture on promoting the sustainable development and young technopreneurship
    • Annual Engineering, Science, Technology & Innovation (ESTI) Design/Essay Competition
    • Creating an innovative culture for the young generation in ASEAN region
    • Annual Korea-ASEAN Engineering Forum (jointly organized with National Academy of Engineering Korea, NAEK)
    • Annual Kuala Lumpur Engineering Science  Fair (KLESF)


    In order to expedite the implementation of various programs and activities, AAET has also fostered closer cooperative relationship with various engineering organizations, chambers of commerce and NGOs. These include: ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organizations (AFEO), Academy of Science Malaysia (ASM), Malaysia-China Chamber of Commerce (MCCC), The Associated Chinese Chamber of Commerce & Industry Malaysia (ACCCIM), Myanmar Engineering Society (MES), Institution of Engineers Indonesia (PII), Vietnam Union of Science & Technology Associations (VUSTA), Lao Union of Science & Technology Associations (LUSEA), Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM), Board of Engineers Cambodia (BEC), Royal Academy of Cambodia (RAC), Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), Engineering Academy of Japan (EAJ), National Academy of Engineering Korea (NAEK), Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering (ATSE), African Academy of Engineering & Technology (African AET) and etc.